Department of Physics: Standing Committees AY2024-2025

Associate Department Heads (ADH):

Schweitzer (ADH for Undergraduate Affairs), C. Trallero (ADH for Graduate Affairs), Santos (ADH for Administration); Gibson (Department Head).

Advisory Committee: Charge – Advise the Department Head on matters pertaining to the operation of the Department and processes for decision making.

Members: Battersby, Dormidontova, Dunne, Hancock, Wu, Wuosmaa. Ex-officio: Santos, Schweitzer, Trallero, Gibson (Chair).

Award Committee: Charge—Promote faculty by nominating them for University, State, National and International Awards.

Members: Ghimire (Chair).

Course and Curriculum Committee: Charge – Advise the Department on all undergraduate and graduate curriculum matters, carry out course and curriculum review, initiate new course action forms, represent the Department on the CLAS C&C Committee.

Members: Dutta[^], Hancock, Joo, <u>Kharchenko (Chair)</u>, Puckett. Ex-officio: Schweitzer, Valente. *Jones is the Physics Course Evaluator*.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee: Charge – Provides direction and coordination for the department to contribute to a supportive, inclusive, and diverse environment for all students, staff, researchers, and faculty in order to realize our full potential in research, teaching, and service at UConn and beyond.

Members: Angles-Alcazar, Battersby, McCarron*, Ordaz (Chair), Sainju, Wuosmaa. Students: (G), (G), (G), (G), (PD), (UG)

External Relations and Outreach Committee: Charge – Promote the department to the external universe. Guide departmental participation in outreach events.

Members: Battersby, <u>Dormidontova (Chair)</u>, Guthrie, Jain, Jin, Sainju, S. Trallero, Perry; Student:

Future of the Department Committee: Charge- Advise on future directions to strengthen and grow the Physics Dept.

Members: Trump (Astronomy), McCarron* [C. Trallero – F24] (AMO), Dunne (Particle P.), Puckett (Nuclear P.), Sochnikov (CMP), <u>Gibson (Chair)</u>.

Graduate Admissions Committee: Charge – Select promising new physics graduate students from an applicant pool each year. The committee is also responsible for coordinating related activities such as open house and orientation.

Members: Jain, Jin, <u>Trump (Chair)</u>, McCarron*, Sinkovic, Wuosmaa.

Graduate Affairs Committee: Charge – The Graduate Affairs Committee is made up of Physics Faculty members and one physics graduate student representative. The Chair of the Graduate Affairs Committee is the Department's representative on the University's Graduate Faculty Council. The Graduate Affairs Committee oversees academic and programmatic matters for the UConn Physics Graduate program [both MS and PhD] such as the curriculum, and departmental degree requirements and standards.

Members: Balatsky, Dunne, Fernando, Santos, C. Trallero (Chair), Valente, Wuosmaa. Student:

Department of Physics: Standing Committees AY2024-2025

Promotion, Tenure and Reappointment Committee: Charge – Evaluate PTR folders based on departmental, college and university standards; request external letters as appropriate, prepare a written statement that reflects the complete range of observations expressed among the committee members and external reviews about the quality and impact of the candidate's academic accomplishments.

Members: Blum (Chair), Dutta^, Fernando, Hancock, Jones, Santos, Schweitzer [replaces Kovner], Trump, Valente, Winston [for one case]. Student:

Safety and Shop Committee: Charge – Develop procedures and carry out laboratory inspections; advise the Department Head on the safe operation of the research laboratory facilities of the Physics department.

Members: Jones (Chair and Radiation Safety), Sinkovic. Ex-officio: Perry, Celmer. Student:

Space Committee: Charge – Define policies for departmental office and laboratory space usage. Recommend assignments for specific rooms, with a focus on requests that involve either a change in the category of usage or a major commitment of departmental resources. Coordinate with planning and construction agencies to assure that the upcoming renovation of the Gant building best serves the teaching, research, and service missions of the department.

Members: Columbo, <u>Dutta</u> (Chair), Sochnikov. Ex-officio: Perry, Gibson. Student:

Studio Committee: Charge -.

Members: Berrah, Ghimire, Hancock, McCarron*, S. Trallero, Valente, Wu (Chair). Student:

Teaching Assignment Committee: Charge – Survey the teaching interests of the faculty and make recommendations to the Department Head on all teaching assignments.

Members: Fernando (Chair). Ex-officio: C. Trallero, Gibson, Schweitzer, Valente.

UConn Physics Graduate Student Association

President - Rachel Lee

Vice President - Vaishakhi Moningi

Secretary - Sagan Sutherland

Treasurer - Jacob Pfund

Event Coordinator - London Willson

Undergraduate Affairs Committee: Charge – To oversee undergraduate education in the department of physics including both the majors' program and service courses. Typical issues include smooth operation of the laboratory courses, advocating for quality instruction, and promoting a vibrant majors community. Members: Blum, Jain, Kharchenko, Ordaz, Puckett, Schweitzer (Chair).

Web Page Committee: Charge: To monitor the physics department web page with the intent to keep it updated, determine what should be included, the page structure and to oversee any redesign efforts. Members: Angles-Alcazar, Jin (Chair), Jones, Rozman.

[^]Dutta on sabbatical Spring 2025

^{*}McCarron on sabbatical Fall 2024

Department of Physics: Standing Committees AY2024-2025

Directors, Coordinators, Liaisons, etc.

Faculty Advisor to SPS, $\Sigma\Pi\Sigma$, and Physics Club: Guthrie Faculty Advisor to Women in Physics: Dormidontova

Faculty Advisor to PGSA: Dunne Ombuds: Battersby, Perry Radiation Safety Liaison: Jones Laser Safety Liaison: Perry Transfer Credit Evaluation: Jones

Honors Program Advisors: Jones, Dormidontova TA training and scheduling: Valente, Schweitzer Open House: Rotation of Faculty (Micki Bellamy)

Majors Fair: Micki Bellamy

Marshal Walker TA Award: Valente

Katzenstein Distinguished Lecture: Dutta[^]

Katzenstein Award for Best Undergraduate Paper: Schweitzer

Charles Reynolds Distinguished Lecture: Hancock Edward Pollack Distinguished Lecture: McCarron*

IMS Advisory Board: none

Grad Faculty Council: Trallero, Dunne (alt)

Colloquium: Sinkovic (Friday, 3:30pm, Gant West 001)

AMO Seminar: Le (Monday, 3:30pm, S119)

ASTRO Seminar: Faesi (*Wednesday, 2:00pm,* S119) CMP Seminar: Volkov (*Wednesday, 1:30pm, S117*) PAN Seminar: Puckett (*Monday, 2:00pm, S119*)

Math-Physics Major: Dunne

Observatory/Planetarium director: Guthrie

Department Newsletter:

Physics Club/Society of Physics Students:

President – Michael Frank
Vice President – Chris Ryan
Treasurer – Jefferson Tang
Secretary – Lela Romeo
Director of Outreach – Matthew Tiongko
Social Media Manager – Joe Eisenman